Sanlam SAICA Trainee Accountants 2023

About Sanlam SAICA Trainee Accountants 2023

The Sanlam CA Training Programme is guided by SAICA regulations, which requires practical experience to obtain the prescribed technical and professional competence in the value creation process. During the trainees’ three years on the Sanlam CA Training Programme, the trainees will be placed on rotations within Group Office and the different clusters within the Sanlam Group to obtain the relevant exposure to achieve the prescribed SAICA competencies. Through the different rotations, trainees will be given opportunities to be part of the Sanlam value creation process and obtain exposure to the following competencies: Ethics & Citizenship; Business acumen; Decision-making acumen; Relational acumen; Digital acumen; Business & Finance Strategy; Internal audit; Governance; Risk Management; Reporting; Taxation.


• Complete the formal educational programme which includes practical experience and training (from Sanlam as a Training Office) as prescribed by the South African Institute of Chartered Accounts (SAICA), in order to qualify as a Chartered Accountant (SA).
• Assist with the annual reporting process.
• Assist with ad-hoc projects.


• B. Com (Honours) Accountancy or a post-graduate programme recognised by SAICA as a prerequisite for admission to the Initial Test of Competence (ITC).
• Academic performance record average of at least 60%.

Knowledge and Skills
• Financial Accounting
• Financial Management
• Taxation
• Managerial Accounting
• Internal and External Audit


The Sanlam Group is committed to achieving transformation and embraces diversity. This commitment is what drives us to achieve a diverse, inclusive and equitable workplace as we believe that these are key components to ensuring a thriving and sustainable business in South Africa. The Group’s Employment Equity plan and targets will be considered as part of the selection process.

Foreign Nationals from the following countries will also be considered for the CA Training Programme: Kenya, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia, Nigeria, Zimbabwe and Morocco.

Scroll to Top